Pages

Friday, December 16, 2016

Top 8 Songs of 2016 || The Hiding


        Meet The Hiding, a band that not only make great music but also have great taste in music. Which is perfect, because that is exactly what this space is all about - great music, great artists, great reads. And luckily the kind folks of the band have put together their Top 8 tracks from 2016 into one nifty list right here. Couple it with the groups' very own track, Dream Catcher's Life, a catchy tune all about doing what's right for you despite what others may say. So go pour yourself a drink, get out your speaker and sit back, The Hiding has got you covered. Kudos!

 Lose It – Flume featuring Vic Mensa
        From the first moment that Skin was previewed, this instantly stood out. The way in which the track raises through the intensity of the syths and drums, and how Vic Mensa manipulates the melody of the chorus immediately gets tattoed into your mind with its catchiness. It’s such a big adrenaline rush within the album.

 Holla – LANKS
        This track is a testament to how much LANKS has grown as an artist in such a short period of time. There is so much going on in this track, and lyrically it takes you on a massive journey. LANKS has really captured the essence of his vocals and knows how to manipulate them to perfection. The ‘tribal’ drumming that he creates within the chorus as his own type of ‘drop’ within the track is clever, working his electronic influences into this track to a high standard.

 Nothing Like This – Blonde/Craig David
        Craig David has come back from the dead and I for one am a huge fan of what he’s done this year. Yeah, he took Bieber/Jack U and made it his own, but the track he’s done with Blonde should’ve been bigger than it was in Australia in my opinion. David doesn’t even need to show off his beautiful vocal talents to even sell this one, the production behind it makes great. EDM and Craig David are a match made in heaven.

 You Don’t Think You Like People Like Me – Alex Lahey
        Lahey’s ability to tell a story in a serious yet comedic way is something to be admired. Whenever this one comes on, you just can’t help shouting the chorus at the top of your lungs. It’s just so damn catchy – there’s nothing more you can say!

 Lone – What So Not/Ganz featuring JOY.
        The number one song in the gym playlist of The Hiding. This track is so huge! The build up to the drop is perfect, and the drop is simply awesome (especially at the end of the song). JOY’s reverb soaked vocals are well placed and almost strategically build the emotional context of the song without being the centre point of the song.

 My Love Is Gone – SAFIA
         I can’t fault SAFIA’s debut album in any way. I didn’t think they could top their early stuff, but ‘My Love Is Gone’ raised the bar again. Usually I’m a big sucker for Ben’s vocals (which is the case once again), but the main attraction to this one was the breakdown towards the latter part of the song. SAFIA essentially take you back to the start of the track and build you back up before you can catch your breath. Well played.

 The Noise – Castlecomer
        How Castlecomer aren’t playing stadiums yet is beyond me. I’ll admit that we’ve jumped on them way too late, but oh boy these guys are incredible. The production levels of this one are incredibly good, but they have one of the best live sets I’ve seen in some time. You can tell that considerable amounts of blood, sweat and tears have gone into what they do and it’s paying extreme dividends.

 Waiting – Midnight Pool Party
        Since they came to attention with ‘Stay’, these Sydney lads have kept us waiting for far too long, and they definitely did not disappoint. ‘Waiting’ portrays a classic love story that we’re all too familiar with, but how they continue to bring that party vibe with this one through a strong synth presence and Darren’s smooth vocals is top notch. 

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

Castlecomer || Cosmos & Creature || Shenna


CastlecomerJudy (+ All Of The Noise)

With a new album and a half dozen upcoming tour dates, Castlecomer have plenty to be celebrating to be doing. But instead, they're hard at work releasing killer tracks like Judy, a track portraying a taboo relationship from the weaker partner's point of view. It's the tune described by the band as the "most sinister" of their latest 'All Of The Noise' EP. With a little bit of unrequited love and a whole heap head-bopping electric beats, this is a dark song in the most enticing way possible.

With vocals that drawl their way through the tracks, this group have a style that's hard to miss and equally as difficult to top. It's just cool, effortlessly so. Lead vocalist, Bede, suggests that this EP has an overarching theme of escapism and, quite frankly, this is the perfect album to escape into.

To celebrate this head turner album, Castlecomer are heading out on an east coast tour and are working hard on producing a polished show. Or as Bede explains, "In the past we would scribble down a few songs and then change the set completely while on stage, but we’re trying to make it a bit more smooth and professional now.  There’s talk of having a 3 track acoustic part of the set in the middle, and also of doing some house parties during the tour, but we’ll have to map it out with our agent first…!"

CASTLECOMER ‘ALL OF THE NOISE’ NATIONAL TOUR

THU 17 NOV | RAD BAR, WOLLONGONG NSW | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 25 NOV| TRANSIT BAR, CANBERRA ACT | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

SAT 26 NOV | THE REVERENCE HOTEL, MELBOURNE VIC | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 2 DEC | MANNING BAR, SYDNEY NSW | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

THU 15 DEC | THE BRIGHTSIDE, BRISBANE QLD | 18+
Tickets available from www.castlecomermusic.com

FRI 16 DEC | THE NORTHERN HOTEL, BYRON BAY NSW | 18+
Free Entry

Watch the video here.


Cosmos & Creature - Young 

This soft bopper is a an enthralling mix of heavy beats, a little tambourine (ah, how happy is my happy?!) and the captivating vocals that tie it all together. Just in time for some summer dancing, this is a groove to add to any mix, playlist or compilation. It'd just be such a shame to miss out on jamming to this tune.

Cosmos & Creature weren't on my radar until this track, but with a sure-hit like Young don't make the same mistake as me. Keep an eye out, your ears ready and get set for some groovin' with this gem. Kudos to them for this!

Keep groovin' here.


Shenna - So Low

Oh, Shenna, I think you might just have my heart. Quite the fan of anything with some electro vibes (thanks big brother for that!) So Low is the break up, heartache without the angst. Hallelujah! An upbeat, layered track with an R'n'B inspired sound underlying it all. As introductions go, this is perhaps one of the best - if you haven't feasted on Shenna before, start here and dig in.

The unassuming tune is one that covers a hell of a lot in three minutes, forty-six seconds. But mostly, it shows off Shenna as she should be. This is a gal who knows what she's doing, where she's headed and is doing it herself. Invite her to the party, she will absolutely not disappoint.

Avoid feeling low here.

Saturday, November 12, 2016

Boy & Bear || Regional Tour Kicks Off



The lads from Boy & Bear are back on the road, having already played the first shows of their highly anticipated regional Australia "Limit Of Love" Tour. Presented by Triple J, these Aussie folk-pop legends are heading back out to shower the regional areas of Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, Western Australia and the ACT with their characteristic high energy and raw edges that make them so appealing. 

“We'll be changing it up night to night really, often the venue depicts what kind of show we will go for.  A nice noisy pub makes a great rock show while the intimate theatres allow a lot more room for dynamics and banter.  Keeps us on our toes and stops us from being repetitive…It's been a long time coming for us, this regional run.  But we always love playing to as many local cities as we can, it takes time to get back there but we're looking forward to it," says Killian Gavin (vocals and guitar) of the tour.

And, if you're not already sold (tough crowd if so!), the boys have joined forces with Akasha Beers in 5 Dock to brew their very own beer which will be on tap throughout the tour. Which is ace in its own right, but all proceeds from sales of the bevvie will be heading to Buy a Bale, a charity that helps drought-stricken farmers throughout Queensland. 

You know when life just throws you a win? Well, this is it: Boy & Bear, cold beer and a helping hand to those in need. If you're in the area and haven't already purchased a ticket or two, what are you waiting for? It's where I'd rather be, that's for sure!




BOY & BEAR ‘LIMIT OF LOVE’ TOUR DATES
Presented by triple J

Wed 09 Nov | Regent Theatre, Ballarat VIC
Tickets available from www.regententertainment.com.au

Thu 10 Nov | Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo VIC
Tickets available from www.ulumbarratheatre.com.au/Home | 03 5434 6100

Fri 11 Nov | Costa Hall, Geelong VIC
Tickets available from www.gpac.org.au/find-a-show/ |03 5225 1210

Sat 12 Nov | The Cube, Wodonga
Tickets available from www.thecubewodonga.com.au | 02 6022 9311

Wed 16 Nov | C.Ex Coffs, Coffs Harbour NSW
Tickets available from www.cex.com.au/ | 02 6652 3888

Thu 17 Nov | Miami Marketta, Gold Coast QLD
Tickets available from www.oztix.com.au | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

Fri 18 Nov | Beach Hotel, Byron Bay NSW
Tickets available from www.oztix.com.au | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

Sat 19 Nov | Lake Kawana Community Centre, Sunshine Coast QLD
Tickets available from www.scvenuesandevents.com.au/lake-kawana-community-centre | 07 5413 1400
Sun 20 Nov | The Mills Precinct, Toowoomba QLD
Tickets available from www.oztix.com.au | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

Wed 23 Nov | Pilbeam Theatre, Rockhampton QLD
Tickets available from www.seeitlive.com.au/Home | 07 4924 5600

Thu 24 Nov | MECC, Mackay QLD
Tickets available from www.mackayecc.com.au/ | 07 4961 9777

Fri 25 Nov | Tanks Arts Centre, Cairns QLD
Tickets available from www.tanksartscentre.com | 07 4032 6600

Sun 27 Nov | The Venue, Townsville QLD
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

Fri 02 Dec | Albany Entertainment Centre, Albany WA
Tickets available from www.ticketek.com.au | 132 849 | All Ticketek Outlets

Sat 03 Dec | 3 Oceans, Margaret River WA
Tickets available from www.oztix.com.au | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

Sun 04 Dec | Fremantle Prison, Fremantle WA
Tickets available from www.ticketmaster.com.au | 136 100 | All Ticketmaster Outlets

Wed 07 Dec | Orange Ex-Services Club, Orange NSW
Tickets available from www.oesc.com.au/ | 02 6362 2666
Thu 08 Dec | ANU, Canberra ACT
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

Fri 09 Dec | Waves, Wollongong NSW
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

Sat 10 Dec | Wests City, Newcastle NSW
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

So Whatever || The Dead Love



A healthy serving of grunge, topped syrup-smooth vocals, The Dead Love are a group to make time for. This Sydney trio have enjoyed a blazing trail for their grungey punk sounds since the group's inception. There is no stopping this powerhouse of a group, but when the music is this good does anyone want to turn it down? No one's willing to leave this party any time soon.

The group's latest offering, the 11 track strong album 'So Whatever', opens with the continuous guitar riff of Frown. This isn't a track that's going to break any new group, but it's definitely one that people will want to download (hopefully legally). It's 3 minutes and thirty-six seconds of a group that clearly knows what they're doing and what they're capable of.

Summer is a full throttle ride of vocals and guitar, as it should be, but it's the drums that really steal the spotlight. A refreshing blend of laid-back guitar and vocal, is complemented by the drive of the stellar rhythm section in this track. It's a standout from the album.

The title track, So Whatever, continues the gritty road through The Dead Love's preferred home of grunge. Heavy on the guitar, heavy on the drums, heavy on everything really, this is a song that throws it all into the deep end and swims. There is nothing about this song that isn't absolutely warranted. Kudos.

'So Whatever' is an album that has a lot to live up to; after all, the group's debut album secured a #5 spot on the iTune's rock charts. But it was never an album content to stay in the shadows. Instead it launches itself into the world as it so deserves, with no apologies just seriously good music.



www.facebook.com/thedeadloveband

Thursday, October 13, 2016

Introducing :: Love Ghost



I admit that I just never get sick of 90's grunge, and anything that draws its inspiration from that time. I'm barely a 90's baby but that's the music, in my eyes at least, that can truly never die. And it's bands like Love Ghost, who bring their own modern twist to the genre, that keep such an important subculture alive.

With Friday Afternoon the group have mixed the 90s grunge with violin and soft vocals. It's quite simply an unexpected masterpiece. This teenage anthem is here to tell you that standing up for what you believe in is a-okay. Love Ghost's lead vocalist and lyricist explains the group's no-holds-barred approach to songwriting, "It’s a shame that people tend to shy away from anything that feels too personal, because those types of things let you know who you really are".

Formed and fronted by fifteen-year-old Finn Bell, this is a group that is mature beyond its years already, but has so much still left to give. 


Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Vaudeville Smash // Laura




Vaudeville Smash's track Laura, the lead single from recently released album The Gift is a percussion heavy, pop/folk tune reminiscent of 80s classics such as Africa's Toto. With bursts of staccato flute and consistent percussive goodness throughout, this is an irresistible new track to completely sink your teeth into.

The track, released in early August, is accompanied by a dazzling music clip, starring dancer Shivawn Joubert as the "untamed man-eater" Laura. The clip continues on with its ode to the 80s dance scene, with Joubert perfectly cast as the sexy, powerful Laura. It's just so hard to take your eyes off her.

With The Gift an album showcasing two years of writing, recording and reworking, it's a twisting road of driving synth beats and slower tunes. Lead vocalist/flute/saxophone explains, "We wanted the album to be fun and exciting.  We wanted to take people on a journey from the frantic, pumping beat of Laura, to the slow jam of Driving Me Wild.  From heartfelt to silly!"

Facebook

Friday, September 30, 2016

Osaka Punch || Death Monster Super Squad



These Brisbane superheroes have a new EP out and are all set to blow up the eastern coast of Australia with their current tour dates. Osaka Punch's Death Monster Super Squad is ready to save the world, one prog-track at a time. Everyone's heard of Marvel and you're all familiar with DC, but now there's a new home of the hero and it's a seven track EP.

With new characters appearing frequently on the group's Facebook page, the songs are fast paced, spy-robbing-a-bank-scene, and are completely stuck in my head. With heavy drums, guitar riffs and vocals to pull anyone's attention, this is an EP worthy of its superhero roots.

If you're into high octane, prog-superhero rock vibes, buy Death Monster Super Squad here.



www.facebook.com/osakapunch

Thursday, September 22, 2016

DOT || The Preatures || Carla Wehbe



Dot - Weekend (Stohou Remix)

Brisbane-based songstress Dot has teamed up with London artist Stohou to release this remix of her single Weekend. With the original track receiving global airplay, this new release is only a further reason to pay attention to Queensland's latest pop darling.

With EDM making a whole lot of noise at the moment - think Closer by The Chainsmokers or the latest Calvin Harris smash This Is What You Came For - the time for a remix of an already seriously catchy song is rife. And Dot is set to lap it all up, Weekend is the break from life everyone needs right now.




The Preatures - I Know A Girl

This is a true girl-power anthem for a new generation. The Preatures have offered up their latest track I Know A Girl giftwrapped and ready for a generation of gals who aren't content with the plain and simple. This is a track for the girls, girls with 5000 Facebook friends or the ones who have a best friend who knows everything, and everyone else in between. This is a track that is about self-love a whole lot more than relationships.

The 80s pop nostalgia coupled with soaring vocals and indie/rock influences creates a cocktail that absolutely everyone (18+ of course) should have a taste of. This is a masterpiece quietly slipped out to the universe. You'd be kidding yourself if you thought giving this one a miss was a good idea.

www.facebook.com/ThePreatures



Carla Wehbe - Electric Field

One of the best parts of being the author of this site is the music that gets added to my playlist. Carla Wehbe is a new addition, but has already been well played, well listened and well shared. With a voice fair more mature than her years, and the musicality to back it up, Wehbe's debut offering Electric Field, pulled from the EP of the same name, is an undeniably strong starting point.

Another newcomer to share in the EDM vibes currently playing out in the music world, Wehbe has carefully constructed a world that is both familiar and yet entirely unique. No mean feat for a debut artist. This is a girl who's landed on scene fully formed and ready to cement herself a spot at the top of everyone else's playlists too.

www.facebook.com/carlawehbe17

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Welcome to the Quick n the Dead



"I feel like we have something to offer. I’m really proud of this album and hopefully people will dig these new tunes."

Hailing from the small Victorian town of Glenrowan, the Quick n the Dead are a trio of rockers with a self-titled album that I just can't stop listening to. The band, two brothers and their long-time friend, who perform "southern-rock" are proof of the value in independent music. This stuff is gold.

The EP, which was released early September this year, is a fourteen song tale straight from the band's heart. And, luckily for them, it succeeds in their goal: these are melodies I can't get out of my head.

I always like to start off with the name, so where did the Quick & the Dead get its name from?
The boring version is that it was just the name left on the list after we crossed all the others off haha. The inspiration for it was a hybrid of Western films and old English language. Quick used to mean alive years ago, in old bibles there’s verses about God coming back for the quick (living) and the dead.

This is your second album release, how are you feeling now compared to prior to your debut?
I think we’re more confident. Maybe. Our first release we didn’t really have any idea what we were doing or if anyone would buy it.  Now I feel like we have something to offer. I’m really proud of this album and hopefully people will dig these new tunes.

How do you think your sound’s changed between the last release and this?
For our first album we recorded all the instruments live in a room together over 2 days then all the vocals over another 2 days. We took some more time with this one, putting a little more focus on the creative process not just capturing the energy of a live rock band. I think it’s got more depth musically and lyrically and that it’ll take a few listen’s for people to appreciate all the aspects of the songs.

Where did the inspiration come from for this album?
That’s a very broad question, each song has its own unique story. Lyrically it’s my questions/ideas of how belief and the pursuit of truth interact with our everyday lives. Musically it draws from Jack white, Tom Petty, Cry of love, Josh Garrels, Robert Cray band, Aaron Gillespie, U2, Zeppelin, Maylene & the sons of disaster, Foo Fighters etc.

How long has this self-titled album been in the works for? How has it changed since the music was initially written?
The first song we wrote for this album was The Blacksmith and it was written the week after we finished recording our first album, that’s around 2 ½ years ago. I think really there’s just been minor changes as we’ve played these songs live and realised what works and what doesn’t. Little things like using an acoustic not a piano, going double time in this section, slight change of melodies etc. The major themes/ideas have stayed constant.

I’ve always wondered what makes a band decide to release a self-titled album, was there a reason you’ve chosen to with this album?
Yeah. Scattered through the album there are 4 songs’ (chapter I, II, III, IV) that tell a western story that expands on the ideas behind our name. So the title covers those themes plus we wrote, recorded and produced it by ourselves so we feel that this album really defines who we are and the music we create. So hopefully the ‘self-titled’ helps keep the concept simple and lets the music speak for itself.

What do you hope people take from the music you guys put out?
Question’s that keep them thinking and a melody they can’t get out of their head.

And for anyone new, why should we give this album a listen?
If you’ve read all the way to the end of this interview you really owe it to yourself to listen to at least one song! If nothing else just to see if you wasted the last 5 minutes of your life.

Thanks for stopping by Love ‘Em!
Anytime, thanks for the chat.

Monday, September 19, 2016

Hot Spoke || Katie Buxton || Wren



Hot Spoke - Outlines

The alt-rock/indie vibes and old school nostalgia are perfectly combined to create Hot Spokes' lead single Outlines. This is a feel good track. You know the sort. As soon as it's playing there's nothing to do but enjoy the music. The very best of sorts.

Originally a Triple J Unearthed standout, Outlines has since gotten airtime on Triple J across Australia. And it's completely obvious why. Ness Muir's vocals are to die for and the guitar equally as divine. This is one I've already had on repeat and, slightly unfortunately, I can't keep it all to myself.

www.facebook.com/hotspokemusic



Katie Buxton - You Flew

Ah, Katie Buxton. She's the girl with a voice so silky it's hard to believe there's no autotune in sight. This is raw talent at its best; and any longtime of the sight will know how much I love nabbing budding stars to share. This Nashville-based songstress' latest single You Flew is a heartfelt ode to unrequited love and those too afraid to open their hearts.

Everything about this song is so peaceful, that it's almost surprising at just how powerful the lyrical arrangement for this song is. A songwriting major at Belmont University, it's not as surprising that this powerhouse of a ballad has been created by Buxton. She might just be the best thing you hadn't even heard of.



Wren - Here

Entrancing is really the only word that comes to mind whenever I hear Wren's violin based single Here. The vocals I could talk about all day, but that violin..well, that's something to really gush over. And it's only made more spectacular in the accompanying film clip.

There's just something so special about an artist that can do it all. Wren is the one-man-band to end all else; she has the spunk and drive of more than just one, albeit incredibly talented, lady and she's just getting better. Wren's music is the glitter dust of something magical.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

The Winter Gypsy || Page I




Potentially because I have quite a unique one myself, but I get very excited about names. I know you aren't meant to judge a book by its cover, but I'm 100% guilty of judging by a name. So when I saw a band called The Winter Gypsy appear in my inbox, I was intrigued. And thankfully not disappointed.

I could go on for ages about this band, their energetic, easy grooving beats and those vocals.. But they can do themselves a lot more justice than I can. So sit back and take it all in, this is a train I'd be willing to travel for days.

So to start, where did the band The Winter Gypsy come from, how did you become the group we know today?
We all kind of knew each other through various mutual friends. I started The Winter Gypsy with Max. It was a project that I had been wanting to start for the past couple of years, but never really found anyone I wanted to venture into it with until I met Max. I had been jamming with Dave and Isaac since 2012. Max knew Jonny through music school and we all met Sean through Dave, and he kind of joined our band when we went on a road trip to play in Canberra. He filled in for Jonny who was unable to make the trip.

Now we are a family.

What about the name; is there a story behind it or did you just like the sound?
I came up with the name. I usually played backyard shows with Dave (pianist) when we both started to collaborate. Friends used to call us gypsies because of our style and the way we would just set up anywhere, shoeless, and play a set filled with random sounds involving, guitar, piano, melodica and xylophone, topped off with some vocal harmonies. Winter happens to be my favourite season of the year. during Winter, 2014, I had come up with the name, and it stuck with me.

You’re about to start a string of tour dates, how’s the preparations going?
It's going well. Max and I planned it all ourselves, so we're stoked with it. We planned our tour in the span of three weekends. We're kind of treating our first east coast tour as a holiday more than anything! [NB: Tour is underway.]

The latest track has a really special story behind it, can you share that with us?
Back in 2008, Tush's mum was diagnosed with breast cancer, and she continued to battle this until 2011 when she finally overcame it. Following this Tush moved schools and really started to focus more on music.
The single Took Me By relates to the thoughts that were going through his head during this time in his life - "...Paradise we live in is coming to an end". However the song itself is also about the uncertainty and fragility of situations that are out of your control. Despite the minimal lyrics, the message resonates through the song. It was written in 2012, and had previously been recorded three times, but due  to the personal nature of the song Tush wasn't willing to release it until he was content with the sound; a feat that has now been accomplished

You’ve had so much praise from the media already, did that make you guys more or less nervous for the EP?
It definitely didn't make us nervous. If anything, we were excited for people to hear the rest of our songs.

Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Montaigne || Glorious Heights


The thing about Montaigne is the only person she really can top is herself.

The newly 21-yer-old, with a brand spanking new album that made its debut at #4 on the ARIA charts, rarely has trouble with doing just that. She's the girl that just keeps getting better and everyone is falling in love with Montaigne. Jessica Cerro, better known by her stage name, is the pocket rocket oozing confidence as she makes her firm impression on the music industry. Although her debut album, the appropriately titled Glorious Heights, is for many a first glimpse at this talented songstress, she has the poise and confidence that lets everyone know that she's in the game til the end. 

First off, happy belated 21st birthday! Did you have a weekend off to celebrate?
Yeah I did! It was very nice, there was a surprise party and vegan fairy bread and everything.

I can’t say I was surprised when your debut album, Glorious Heights, debuted so high on the ARIA charts. How did you react to scoring the #4 spot?
There was a severe under-reaction. I don’t have a good gauge on what should in fact be exciting when it comes to that stuff, but my team all told me that it was an impressive feat and a big deal, so what I lacked in excitement I made up for in gladness.

Glorious Heights has received some glowing reviews, it you had to give the album a review what would you have said?
I don’t think I have the necessary perspective to give it a review haha, the songs are all deeply intertwined with my life and my feelings and so they always resonate with me (except for Consolation Prize, for some weird reason). A lot of the context in which those songs take place are in the past, but I guess the core sentiments are still pretty relevant to me devoid of personal details.

How did you feel releasing a full length album? Did it feel different then what you’ve done previously?
Yes, because there was a lot more emailing that had to be done, haha. It felt like a big deal so I put a lot of thought and effort in to make sure that it was the closest to exactly how I wanted it to be. Regarding the recording and writing of the songs - the only difference I’d say was that we had much more time to write. With the EP, I went in with four penultimately formed songs and that we just pre-produced and then recorded and mixed and mastered over about 5 weeks. We got to write for about that time, with a bit of pre-prod here and there, and then the usual few days restriction on recording (because of expense).

You’ve already established yourself as a girl with a serious voice in live gigs, how was it to capture your spark in a studio session?
I find it much harder. There’s more of a vibe in a room full of people hanging on your every word and note. It takes a bit of acting to record in a session, and I feel that I still have a bit of work to do to get really good at it.

And now that you’re almost ready to step back out on the road, how do you go about turning these tracks back into a live show?
We actually have our first rehearsal for this tour from 9-12am tonight! (I’m going to die, I’m usually asleep by 10:30pm.) We start playing with what we have, which is keyboard & synths, bass, drums, SPD-SX, my voice, and track, and then see how much on the track we can make live with just the four of us. The set list I initially write up tends to get changed,  but it’s good to have a starting point anyway. I’m not precious about sticking to my own guns.

Is there a track that you’re particularly excited to share to an audience?
I think Glorious Heights is very fun, I played that one at Splendour [in the Grass].

And just because I know you’re a huge Harry Potter fan, have you managed to read ‘The Cursed Child’ as yet?
I have. Terrible as a realistic representation of Rowling’s wizarding world, enjoyable as fanfiction written by a 15 year old.


MONTAIGNE ‘BECAUSE I LOVE YOU’ TOUR DATES
presented by triple j and music feeds

TUE 13 SEP | THE SPIEGELTENT @ BRISBANE FESTIVAL, BRISBANE QLD (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.brisbanefestival.com.au *On sale Thu 30 June

FRI 16 SEP | CARNIVAL OF FLOWERS, TOOWOOMBA QLD (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.tcof.com.au

FRI 23 SEP | FAT CONTROLLER, ADELAIDE SA
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

SAT 24 SEP | JACK RABBIT SLIMS, PERTH WA
Tickets available from www.ticketbooth.com.au

SAT 01 OCT | BEYOND FESTIVAL, CANBERRA ACT (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.beyondfestival.com.au

SUN 02 OCT | WILDWOOD FESTIVAL, PORT MACQUARIE NSW (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.wildwoodmusic.com.au

MON 03 OCT | CALOUNDRA MUSIC FESTIVAL, CALOUNDRA QLD (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.caloundramusicfestival.com

*NEW SHOW* WED 5 OCT | OXFORD ART FACTORY, SYDNEY NSW
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets
FRI 07 OCT | UNI BAR, WOLLONGONG NSW
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

SAT 08 OCT | OXFORD ART FACTORY, SYDNEY NSW
Tickets available from www.moshtix.com.au | 1300 GET TIX | All Moshtix Outlets

SUN 09 OCT | LIZOTTES, NEWCASTLE NSW (ALL AGES)
Tickets available from www.lizottes.com.au | 02 4956 2066
*NEW SHOW* THURS 13 OCT | CORNER HOTEL, MELBOURNE VIC
Tickets available from www.cornerhotel.com | 1300 724 867

FRI 14 OCT | WORKERS CLUB, GEELONG VIC
Tickets available from www.oztix.com.au | 1300 762 545 | All Oztix Outlets

SAT 15 OCT | CORNER HOTEL, MELBOURNE VIC
Tickets available from www.cornerhotel.com | 1300 724 867